DUI DEFENSE ATTORNEYS IN LAS VEGAS, NEVADA
Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
LBC Law Group is an experienced firm in Clark County, having handled thousands of DUI cases across the Las Vegas Valley. DUI is a serious charge in Nevada, but LBC wants to help minimize the damage caused by an arrest and/or conviction.
Our DUI attorneys will go to court for you if you have been arrested for driving after drinking alcohol or consuming marijuana. If you have been arrested and you are concerned about the consequences of the charge of dui, call one of our DUI lawyers now. We can help you avoid Las Vegas jail and may be able to reduce your charges!
We know how important your personal freedom is. LBC Law Group has represented thousands of drivers charged with DUI in Las Vegas, Henderson and all surrounding areas of Nevada. We also know that many of our clients worry that they will have to spend time in jail for a DUI conviction.
Did you know that a DUI FIRST offense is punishable by up to 6 months in jail!?
Our DUI attorneys know what it takes to fight these charges and get your case dismissed or reduced to reckless driving or another lesser charge.
Here's some FAQ's about DUI laws in Nevada:
What is considered "over the limit?"
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Limit: The legal BAC limit for drivers in Clark County is 0.08%. If a driver's BAC is found to be 0.08% or higher, they can be charged with DUI.
What are the potential penalties for a DUI conviction?
The penalties for a DUI conviction in Clark County depend on the number of prior DUI convictions and the circumstances of the offense. Possible penalties include fines, license suspension or revocation, mandatory alcohol education or treatment programs, community service, and even jail time. For a first offense, the statute states that a minimum 2 days in jail and up to 6 months.
What is Implied Consent, and will I lose my license if I refuse to have my blood or breath tested?
In Nevada, drivers are deemed to have given their implied consent to chemical testing for the purpose of determining their BAC. If a driver refuses to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test, they may face additional penalties, including license suspension.
I am under 21--can I have any alcohol in my system?
Zero Tolerance for Minors: For drivers under the age of 21, there is a zero-tolerance policy for DUI. This means that any amount of alcohol in their system can result in a DUI charge.
What happens if my BAC is really high?
Enhanced Penalties for High BAC: If a driver's BAC is found to be 0.18% or higher, they may face enhanced penalties, including longer jail time and higher fines. These enhanced sentences usually include an evaluation by a court appointed addiction specialist. They will almost always recommend additional classes like Alcoholics Anonymous and/or a breath interlock device.
Can my DUI charge be reduced?
Yes, we often have success reducing the charge of DUI to something less significant, like a Reckless Driving. We can never guarantee a reduction (and you should be wary of any attorney who attempts to guarantee the same) but our goal is to always protect your record. We have the experience and knowledge to get your charges reduced.
How long does a DUI conviction stay on my record?
In most states, including Nevada, a DUI conviction must stay on your record for 7 years from the date your case closes. This is because DUI crimes are "enhanceable," meaning the 2nd and 3rd offense in 7 years carries heavier sentences.
DUI can have devastating effects on your life including:
Jail time (Minimum 2 days and maximum 6 months for a DUI 1st offense)
Loss of driver's license for up to 1 year
Increased insurance rates (for years!)
An arrest record that will follow you for a minimum of 7 years!
DUI SECOND (1ST) OFFENSE:
The penalties for DUIs in Nevada are significant. If you are convicted of a first time DUI with no aggravating factors, you face fines of up to $1,000; up to six months in county jail; and license suspension of 90 days to one year.
DUI SECOND (2ND) OFFENSE:
A second DUI conviction within seven years carries even harsher penalties: $2,000 in fines; minimum of ten (10) days and up to six (6) months in jail; and license revocation unless special permission is obtained from the DMV to drive under restricted conditions (which includes interlock device installation).
DUI SECOND (3RD) OFFENSE:
If you are caught driving under the influence on a third occasion or more within seven (7) years, you will be charged with a felony and your license will be revoked for life without possibility of reinstatement. DUI 3rd offenses also carry mandatory prison time, and are not probationable. An experienced attorney can potentially help you avoid prison by negotiating entry into a specialty court program.
Our DUI attorneys are here for you at any stage of your case.
If you've been arrested, we'll help you understand what's going on with your case, what your rights are, and how we can help you fight the charges against you.
If your case has already gone to court, we can represent you there as well
whether that means going to trial to convince the judge that there was insufficient evidence presented against you
or negotiating a plea deal so that you can avoid jail time altogether.
DUI laws are constantly changing. It's important that you have someone who understands these changes and how they affect your case. Only an experienced attorney knows what arguments will persuade a judge or jury — especially if you've been arrested for an alcohol-related offense or driving under the influence of drugs like marijuana.
DUI ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
For example, most people know that a blood alcohol level (BAC) of .08 is over the legal limit. However, most people do NOT know that if your BAC is over .18, there is a host of new potential legal issues. Judges are required (no longer their choice) to add severe consequences to your sentence if you are above the .18 limit. These additional requirements can include anything from additional jail time to a breath interlock device on your vehicle to months worth of AA meetings. That's where we can help to minimize the damage. Ask one of our attorneys about the exception allowed by the "Impairment Theory."
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence of marijuana, you need an attorney experienced with these cases. Although there is a legal cannabis dispensary on every corner in Las Vegas, the laws on driving after consuming weed have not caught up. That means that your levels may be "over the limit" days after your last use.
WHY YOU SHOULD CHOOSE LBC AS YOUR LAS VEGAS DUI ATTORNEYS
DUI attorneys at LBC Law Group have years of experience and have handled 1000's of DUI in Las Vegas. Our attorneys are proud of our reputation as one of the leading law firms in Las Vegas and Henderson. Our goal is to help you avoid jail time, get back behind the wheel after a DUI arrest and put this charge behind you once and for all.